New “Farm to Table” Restaurant Opens in Westport

Editor’s Note: A review of a recent lunch at LeFarm was posted on March 18, 2010.

There’s big news in the local/sustainable restaurant space. LeFarm, a true farm to table restaurant run by chef/owner Bill Taibe opens on October 7 for lunch and dinner. Bill Taibe is well known as the chef from Napa & Co. in Stamford, which is an award winning restaurant built around the farm to table philosophy. Arik Bensimon took over as executive chef in July.

LeFarm is located at 256 Post Road East, Westport and is taking reservations by phone. Call 203.557.3701 to make a reservation during their current schedule: serving lunch Wednesday thru Friday from 12pm until the mid-afternoon. Dinner will be served Wednesday thru Saturday 5pm till 9:30 or so.

From the restaurant’s web site:

“Our goal is to support our local farmers here in Connecticut as much as possible, but sometimes we may have to cross state lines to find what we need. One thing we can promise is that your dinner with us will be meticulously sourced and simply prepared.”

Our wine selection will be affordable, educational, and chosen with the evening’s menu in mind. We welcome you to bring wines from your own collection, however a nominal fee ($20) and small taste for the chef is required.”

more….

These are the Farmers and Artisans who make our mission possible.

Urban Oaks Organic Farm, New Britian C.T. urbanoaks.org
Holbrook Farm, Bethel C.T. holbrookfarm.net
Millstone Farm, Wilton C.T. millstonefarm.org
Maple Hill Farm, Redding C.T.
Webb Mountain Farm, Monroe C.T.
Artisan Made Northeast, Southbury C.T. artisanmade-ne.com
John Boy’s Smokehouse, Pound Ridge, N.Y. johnboyssmokehouse.com
Plowshares Coffee Roasters, New York, N.Y. plowsharescoffee.com
Sono Baking Company & Cafe, Sono, C.T. sonobaking.com”

I’ll be back with more after an interview and a meal! Let me know your thoughts.

Editor’s Note: A review of a recent lunch at LeFarm was posted on March 18, 2010.

4 thoughts on “New “Farm to Table” Restaurant Opens in Westport”

  1. This sounds great. We are an online artisan food marketplace, RegionalBest.com (http://www.regionalbest.com) featuring foods produced by chefs and other food artisans across the country. As an added service we are looking to list Farm to Table restaurants and events on our web site. Please keep us in mind for future events.

    • Thank you Martha. You’re now on my radar and linked via Facebook. On my site you will find posts about Dinners at the Farm and the first ever CT Farm-to-Chef Harvest Celebration Week. In addition to leFarm in Westport, we have The Dressing Room, Schoolhouse at Cannondale and the Boathouse at Saugatuck as prominent farm-to-table restaurants in Fairfield County. There are more in the state, including Stepney Kitchen, the River Tavern and Still River Café plus another one opening soon in Fairfield. Did you know that someone is already building a web site listing farm-to-table restaurants across the nation? Sadly they only have one listed so far in CT. We have so many excellent ones as you can see.

Leave a Comment

Fairfield Green Food Guide
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST
Like the content you see here? Join our weekly mailing list...
* We hate spam and never share your details.